Overcoming the fear of letting go!

Valuing Art

 

’Beauty is truth, truth beauty,’—that is all Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know~John Keats (Ode on a Grecian Urn) 

I first met William Conger around ten years ago when I was curating That 70s Show for a  gallery in the suburbs of the greater Chicago region. I found him to be a quiet unassuming man although his paintings with broad areas of color and bold linear statements might suggest otherwise. I always admired how he could capture the busyness of life in Chicago, yet maintain a quality of stillness and calmness in his work. 

In December, I visited William in his studio in Chicago. I went there to photograph a painting that was going to a museum. The five minute interruption into his day turned into a two hour conversation about art, painting, the art world, the art market and history. I could have…

View original post 558 more words

Leave a Reply

